Kalle Johnsson

Kalle Johnsson wins Goalkeeper of the Year 2020

F.C. Copenhagen's Kalle Johnsson has won Danish football's Goalkeeper of the Year 2020 award, as decided by newspaper Tipsbladet.

It is the second time in his career that Johnsson has won the award, having initially earned the recognition in 2015 when playing for Randers.

Johnsson, 30, last year finished third in the vote for the award, which covers all goalkeepers in the Danish Superliga and First Division.

Close match with Jesper Hansen
The vote this year was exceptionally close, as Johnsson and FC Midtjylland's Jesper Hansen. The pair received the same number of votes – but when second preferences were taken into account, Johnsson came out 7-6 on top.

Johnson himself awarded his three picks to:

  1. Lawrence Thomas, SønderjyskE – 3 points
  2. Oliver Christensen, OB – 2 points
  3. Jacob Rinne, AaB – 1 point

Fourth FCK goalkeeper to receive the award
Three former FCK goalkeepers have also won the Goalkeeper of the Year award since Tipsbladet began in the contest ion 1984. They are:

  • Jesper Christiansen – 2005, 2006, 2007
  • Johan Wiland – 2010, 2011
  • Robin Olsen – 2016

FCK's Sten Grytebust also won the award in 2017 and 2018 during his time at OB.

>> Watch Kalle Johnsson highlights: Best saves of 2020

>> Read more at TIPSBLADET (in Danish)