Telia Parken

Danish 2020/21 season to start 13 September

The 2020/21 Superliga season in Denmark will kick off on 13 September, it has been confirmed.

The Superliga is currently still running after the three-month coronavirus hiatus, with fixtures due to be completed by the end of July.

F.C. Copenhagen will then compete in the knockout stages of the Europa League in August.

And preparation for the new campaign then begins in earnest as the 2020/21 schedule is released.

Danish Superliga schedule 20/21
The first game of the Danish Superliga will kick off on the weekend of 13 September.

Fixtures will be played up until 20 December, the weekend before Christmas. After which there will be a shorter winter break than usual, with the spring half of the season beginning on the weekend of 3 February.

The final round of the season will be played on 24 May, with the Europa League playoff final set for 28 May.

Season kicks off later than planned
The 20/21 campaign kicks off eight weeks later than planned. Fortunately, due to the new structure off only 12 Superliga teams, there are slightly fewer match rounds to be played.

However, tournament manager Peter Ebbesen says it will be the most difficult season ever.
"In addition to the eight-week delay compared to the original schedule, there is also a relocated European Championship that must be taken into account, which means that the tournaments must be completed earlier than usual," says Peter.

"It's going to be a very tight season for the clubs and the players. That's why we reserve the spring date schedule that part can be discussed when we know at the end of the year whether we have Danish teams in group games and knockout matches in Europe - and whether we have reached the goal of the autumn program.

"It may be necessary to look at spring again if for any reason matches or rounds need to be moved during the season."

Danish Superliga league structure
The upcoming Danish Superliga season will be played with 12 teams meeting at home and away over 22 rounds. Then the league is divided into two leagues, with the top six fighting for the championship, while the other six play to avoid relegation - and with the bonus that the team in seventh place will be able to challenge fourth or fifth place in a battle for the last slot in Europe. There will be 32 match rounds in total - plus the European playoff final.